Skip to Main Content
Teentrust web

Teen Trust Awards $15,959 to Black Hawk County Nonprofits Via “Grantsmobile”

April 13, 2022

Members of a youth philanthropy program of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, Teen Trust, had a free pass to not report to their high school classes this morning, and instead traveled around Black Hawk County via “grantsmobile” to award their 2022 grants. The Teen Trust trustees, 21 students from Black Hawk County high schools, awarded grants totaling $15,959 to eight area nonprofits.

The nonprofits that received a grant, along with the project name and grant award amount, include:

  • Christian Community Development – House of Hope, Equal Access to Technology, $1,500
  • City of Janesville, Free Books for Summer Readers, $840
  • Lutheran Services in Iowa, Clinical Services in Black Hawk County, $1,287
  • North Star Community Services, Inc., Sensory Integration Through Movement, $2,112
  • Operation Threshold, Inc., The Nest Program, $2,000
  • Riverview Center, Inc., Sexual Assault Crisis Response Toolkit, $2,500
  • Salvation Army – Waterloo, Waterloo Salvation Basketball, $2,960
  • The Job Foundation, Financial Stewardship Mentoring Program, $2,760

The grant funds are available to 501(c)3 agencies addressing community needs in Black Hawk County and are within criteria that the trustees determine as priorities. The trustees work as a team to decide which organizations to assist through financial aid and/or volunteerism by using a grant application system, site visits and training seminars. This program illuminates the role in which students can be vital community contributors now, through hands-on education in giving back, as well as valuable leaders in the future. This group of students is led by a student director, a local college student who empowers and challenges high school students to address, identify and seek solutions to community needs while building a sense of social responsibility.

“If this group of teens is any indication of where the future of the Cedar Valley is heading, world watch out!” said Caitlin Thilges, Teen Trust student director and graduate student at the University of Northern Iowa. “The passion, vigor and intentionality that is shown by each individual member is awe-inspiring. It’s been an honor to learn and grow with this group. Philanthropy is a big word that means a lot to many and these teens do a fabulous job encompassing all the qualities that it entails.”

Members of the 2021-2022 Teen Trust are (*indicates officers): Lauren Bash, Molly Fereday, Sofi Gutierrez, Josh Heine, Bailey Hellman, Natalie Kruth, Ava Monaghan, Olivia Mudd, and Emma Reiter* from Columbus Catholic High School; Myah Brinker, Xanti Castillo, Meghan Chagdes, Eli Flikkema*, Sriya Kalala, Harrison Kirschenmann, Ahmad Madlock*, Emmajean Roling, Carson Wirtz, and Sophia Woods from Cedar Falls High School; Kaylee Kerr and Hanna Schulte from Don Bosco High School; Chloe O’Brien from Waterloo East; and Daysia Jones and Jorden Wallican* from Waterloo West High School.

The Teen Trust program is currently accepting applications for high school students to serve on Teen Trust for the 2022-2023 season. More information and the application can be found online at The application deadline is Sunday, April 24.

Questions regarding Teen Trust can be directed to Tom Wickersham, CFNEIA program director, at or 319-243-1356.

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook