Skip to Main Content
Fayette grant awards web

Fayette County Community Foundation Distributes $133,998 to Local Nonprofit Organizations

Fayette County Community Foundation
April 13, 2022

The Fayette County Community Foundation (FCCF) held its 2022 grant awards celebration at The Grand Theatre on April 12, announcing the distribution of $133,998 to 18 projects of organizations serving Fayette County through its 2022 grant cycle.

“Congratulations to Fayette County Community Foundation’s 2022 grant recipients! We are proud to partner with these organizations as they serve the needs of our county and work to create stronger communities for all,” said Rick Scheffel, chair of the FCCF governing committee.

Grant recipient organization, project the grant will fund, and grant amount is listed below by funding area.

Arts & Culture

  • Banks Township Trustees, Preserving History and Improving Safety at Union Cemetery, $1,900
  • Elgin Historical Society, Museum Second Floor Restoration – HVAC, $10,000
  • Fayette Co Ag Society, Fair Dance Pavilion Entry Renovation Project, $5,694.50
  • Otter Creek Valor Quilters, Otter Creek Valor Quilters – 2022 Quilt Presentations, $5,872
  • St. Lucas American Legion Post 691, Military Display Cases, $5,000
  • The Grand Theatre of Oelwein, Door and Window Replacement Project, $6,837

Community Betterment

  • City of Elgin, Elgin Community Betterment Club – Expanding Recreation for Elgin Youth: Climbing Wall, $10,000
  • City of Wadena, Wadena Illyria Fire Department – Turnout Gear, $10,000
  • Clermont Fire Department, Battery-Operated Jaws-of-Life Extrication Tools, $10,000
  • Fayette County – Auditor, Conservation: Gilbertson Conservation Education Area Avenue of Flags, $5,694.50
  • Fayette County Economic Development & Tourism, Visit Fayette County Travel Guide, $10,000
  • West Union Lions Club, Lions Park Playground Equipment, $5,000
  • West Union Recreation Foundation, 2022 West Union Recreation Complex Improvement Project, $10,000

Education & Youth Development

  • Rainbow Land, Enhancing our Path to Success, $10,000

Human Service

  • Fayette County Food Shelf, The Bare Necessities, $5,000
  • Northeast Iowa Community Action, Fayette County Crisis Assistance and Extracurricular Activity Program, $7,500
  • Northeast Iowa Food Bank, Feeding Communities, $10,000
  • Riverview Center, Inc, Fayette County Sexual Assault Crisis Response Toolkit, $5,500

Decisions on grant awards are determined by a local committee, which consists of volunteers from Fayette County. Committee members include: Robin Bostrom, Janell Bradley, Erica Bushaw, Susan Franzen, Ken Hemesath, Pat Hunsberger, Rita Losh, Bradley Minger, Vicki Rowland, Rick Scheffel (chair), Mary Stivers, Jamie Tafolla and Barbara Weno-Schoenjahn.

Grants are awarded through FCCF’s competitive grant process to projects in the program areas of arts and culture, community betterment, education and youth development, environment and animal welfare, health and human service. Grant applicants must be a 501(c)(3) designated organization or government entity serving Fayette County in order to be considered for funding. The 2023 grant cycle opens September 15, 2022 with an application deadline of December 31, 2022. The grant guidelines and application can be found a

Back to News & Events

Connect on Facebook